Like Father Like Son?

I don’t believe too much in coincidence.  I’m more of a fate and providence type of person.  I think there are so many moments throughout our lives which occur that, if we only knew the details, would blow our minds.  Sometimes those mysterious moments show themselves and we are left in awe.

Here’s one of mine.

I began getting serious about photography in 1996 as I started traveling quite a bit with my job and personally.  In 1997 I took a trip to San Francisco and was obsessed with taking photos of the Golden Gate Bridge (I love bridges).  On one particular blustery and overcast day we purchased tickets to take a ride in the bay on a small boat which led us directly under the Golden Gate.  I snapped quite a few black and white film shots as we traveled underneath, but the boat was tossing around wildly in the choppy waters.  I honestly didn’t think I would get much that would be usable.  Fortunately upon developing, I did get a couple of really good shots including this one:

It was, and still is, one of my favorites and I have it hanging framed on one of the walls at home.

Now fast forward several years later.  My grandfather passed away in Northern Iowa who was proceeded by my grandmother years before that.  There were many items they still had of my dad, who died when I was three years old.  I had a few of his mementos, but nothing compared to what was sent to me by my Uncle after grandpa’s funeral.  Personal items, memorabilia from his time in the Navy, postcards, letters, and photographs.

Upon digging through the photographs I found this image:

It blew me away.  Taken under the Golden Gate Bridge in 1968, on a boat (maybe his Navy ship), at the same time of day (note shadows), the same exact alignment just off center, and I would not be surprised at all if it was taken in pretty much the same spot on the water.  The only difference is the focal length and that would be due to the type of cameras used – Polaroid vs Canon 35mm SLR.

I still look at these two photos and shake my head in disbelief.  Coincidence?  I think not.

This entry was posted in Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Like Father Like Son?

  1. hthr says:

    Oh Mike! I burst into tears when I scrolled down to see your fathers picture. Amazing.

    Like

  2. Chad Nikazy says:

    Wow, gave me the chills too. Very cool.

    Like

  3. Jeff Davis says:

    WOW! Now THAT is VERY VERY VERY cool! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. Ken Tucker says:

    Amazing, Mike. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  5. Elizabeth Grattan says:

    wow.

    Like

  6. greentub says:

    That’s fascinating, Mike.

    Like

  7. It was very surprising! my knees are shaking.. Thank you for sharing. God bless. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

