2009 Grammy Nominations

Okay, I have this Love/Hate thing with the Grammy Awards.  Always have.  I love how vast the genres of music are and how most years they will put it all on display – even the Jazz and Classical formats.  I hate how that vastness can steal reality away from voters.  I’m not necessarily talking about country music here, but rather the entire thing.  I’m all for non-commercial projects getting the recognition they deserve, but I can’t help but think it is partly about political posturing – both inside the business and out.

There are so many things I disagree with after reading the long list of nominees and I haven’t the time or will to mention them all.  Instead I will list some of the nominees I am most happy about and believe deserve every bit of recognition for their work and representation of their respective format:

  • Brandon Heath
  • Dan Tyminski
  • Flight of the Conchords
  • MuteMath
  • Lady Antebellum
  • Paramore
  • Jerry Douglas
  • Kings of Leon
  • TobyMac
  • Leona Lewis
  • Alison Krauss
  • Al Green
  • John Mayer “Gravity”
  • Daughtry
  • George Strait
  • The Time Jumpers
  • Vince Gill for Album of the Year (all formats).

A couple other quick observations:

  • How many individuals does it exactly require to record a Lil Wayne album? 
  • And is it me, or does it take more people to write a single song these days?  Loads of tracks (mostly non-country) with 4 or 5 writers.  I mean, c’mon.
  • James Taylor gets a nomination for doing covers??
This entry was posted in Media & Entertainment, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

