Coming Home from the Real World

I am back home in Nashville and still in recovery mode.  I appreciate Chris, Elizabeth, and Brian for their contributions to the blog while I was away.  It feels like I was out for a month, so forgive me if it takes me a while to get in the blogging groove. 

Yesterday was the first day in two weeks I have seen any news.  I have not watched TV, listened to any radio, read a newspaper, or surfed the net at all.  Other than scanning for important emails, I had little idea of what was going on in the world of news and events.  And I am one who likes to be aware of things, but to be honest, I find myself in a better place not knowing what was happening.

Now that I’m back, I don’t want to hear anything about Obama, McCain, or the Presidential election.  I could care less what ‘disastrous peril’ or entertainment the media outlets are peddling as genuine news.  My books and ipod have kept me good company for the last two weeks.  I am slowly catching up with what is happening, but it is via online.  I tried watching TV news last night, but just couldn’t do it.

Certainly I want to be aware of what is real and truly going on that impacts me and my loved ones, but this trip was not about me at all.  It hasn’t been about what the world thinks is important or what the media wants me to believe is imperative.  That has been refreshing.

The truth and reality is what we witnessed and experienced in Ethiopia and Rwanda.  This is what’s really going on.  I am thankful to have put my hands on reality for a change.  I’ll try to hold on to it.

This entry was posted in Media & Entertainment, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

