Keith Urban Is Country Music’s Bono

I recently witnessed the best country music show of the year so far- Keith Urban & Carrie Underwood.  Yes I know, they are not artists I work directly with, but I’m in this business because I love music and will give it recognition whenever it is good or when an artist does the right things.  I may also let you know when I feel like a song is doing nothing but taking up valuable space; but I’m not here to talk about the Garth & Huey Lewis single today.

Anyway, if you have seen a show with Keith Urban lately and you don’t vote for him as Entertainer of the Year, you are on crack!  I’ve seen him as part of The Ranch and then a few times after going solo.  He has always put on a solid show and is a great guy to hang with, but after the show I just experienced I can testify he is hands down the most charismatic and exciting performer in the country format.  From his backstage visits with fans and radio, to the inventive production and the powerful show, it was done first class.  He gets it!  Carrie Underwood opened and she certainly is a star and a nice fit for Urban.  A complete home run for the guys and the gals.

Between sets a talented DJ was spinning and mixing music from all genres and all generations.  I was impressed how the entire evening was very relevant to the crowd and you could feel the exciting buzz of the house from start to finish. 

I am fortunate to be working with Emerson Drive, Whiskey Falls and Adam Gregory because I really do believe they are phenomenal artists, but if all I did was write and talk about my own artists then I would be doing a disservice to you and to myself. We are all in this together and I’m not simply an outlet for company talking points.  My mission is much bigger than that.

This entry was posted in Music Business, Radio and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Keith Urban Is Country Music’s Bono

  1. Megan says:

    I hope you’re on the voting panel!

  2. Mike Severson says:

    You bet I am, Megan!

  3. Margie says:

    Loved this blog! And if I could vote, you bet Keith Urban would have my vote for EOTY! He should have won it last year too! The man is a born entertainer! The DJs at my radio station can’t say enough about his performances! Thanks for a great read!!

  4. Debbie says:

    I have seen Keith Urban four times since July 2007, six times total in the past three years. Keith NEVER performs as if he is “going thru the motions” … always smiling and engaging with the crowd. Keith and crew know how to ENTERTAIN. We, as fans, are physically exhausted after every show! AND, how wonderful of you to recognize DJ Debonair!! aka DeBo… he certainly does get the crowd groovin’. Let’s hope Keith gets the kudos with Entertainer of the Year! Thanks for the great blog.

  5. Sandy says:

    Thanks so much for your comments about Keith Urban. I was just at the Bossier City show on Sunday night and the man is phenomenal! He’s got such a talented, tight band, and a terrific crew as well. He’s just got it all! You are certainly right about his amazing talent and his charisma and the way he involves the audience. He should DEFINITELY win ETOY this year. Unfortunately, some people don’t realize that Kenny Chesney (nothing against him…just not my kind of music) gets such HUGE response to his stadium shows MUCH of the time because of the people he gets to tour with him…case in point: Keith is touring with Kenny on 6-8 of his stadium shows this summer. You can BET MONEY that Keith’s fans will be there to see KEITH….Keith’s tour with Carrie is winding down in April, so the last chances for us to see him are the Kenny stadium shows, since his child is due this summer and he’s likely to take quite a few months off. Kenny’s a star for sure, but he knows how to bring ’em in with his tour mates and Keith is a gigantic draw for him.
    Keith is the very BEST out there right now, hands down!!! Very kind of you to comment on him.
    I’m also a HUGE Emerson Drive fan. Love those guys!

Leave a Reply

